Monday Movie Challenge

Monday, February 27, 2012
Week 7 - The most surprising plot twist or ending.

This was a tough one for me.  I've narrowed it down to a couple because both of these films had me saying "OH SHIT!" at or towards the end.  I won't give away the twist to each movie-just in case some readers have not seen them.

The Sixth Sense
I liked...not loved this movie.  Just as I was starting to get really bored with the movie BAM!  An "OH SHIT!" moment.

 The Others
Personally, I loved this movie and about jumped outta my seat in a few places.  Its kind of a quirky story/situation with Nichole Kidman's character's children.  At the end you know WHY and it all makes sense.


The Skeleton Key
Lastly, is Stephen King's twister.  The movie is good but I had already read the book so I knew what to expect.



Song Challenge Saturday!

Saturday, February 25, 2012
Week 14: Your favorite song that features the use of a harmonica.

This would have to be one of the easier questions for me.  One of my all time favorite artists is Stevie Wonder.  And its common knowledge that Stevie plays harmonica in quite a few of his songs.  My problem would be picking my favorite.  It would have to be...

Livin' For The City

Boogie On Reggae Woman

 I Wish
 



Monday Movie Challenge

Monday, February 20, 2012
Week 6 - Favourite made for TV movie.

Without a doubt this is an old one.  1976 with John Travolta and Robert Reed-(aka Mike Brady).  It is based on a true story.  I would go nuts every time it aired on network tv.  Its hard to tell how many times that I've actually seen it.  Its actually a very good story/movie-if you can get past the funky 70s motif, etc.  


Song Challenge Saturday!

Saturday, February 18, 2012
Week 13: A song you sing to babies.

This song was very popular when my daughter was born and I used to sing it to her all the time.  Actually, I think I heard that Amy Grant wrote it for her daughter.

Amy Grant-Baby, Baby
 




Whitney Houston

Tuesday, February 14, 2012
First, I have to admit that I am pretty disgusted with some of the comments that people are making regarding Ms. Houston's death.  Our society is turning into a bunch of heartless, gutless barbaric turds!  She may have died from an OD, we don't know yet.  My point being that even if she died from a drug overdose, she was still a human being.  She was someones daughter, someones mother, etc.  Many people have this attitude that if you are an addict or alcoholic, you deserve to die.  That there is a subject that I may dive into one day.  I've been somewhat avoiding it though, because there is no way I could possibly contain my opinion to one blog entry.  It would definitely be a multiple blog entry.



I am a fan of Whitney's music and acting.  In fact, Waiting To Exhale is one of my favorites.  With that being said, I would say I'm just a mediocre fan of hers.  She had a phenomenal voice and was a beautiful woman.  I just was never what I would call a huge fan.  Would I have went to see one of her shows?  Probably not.

There's also the fact that Ms. Houston could be a fantastic BITCH!  (And not in a good way.)  Very Diva-esque.  I've heard some of the insane demands that she would bark at people.  Meh, whatever.  I won't elaborate more on that because I don't like to speak ill of the dead-primarily because they aren't here to defend themselves.

I will have to admit that I became hooked on the reality series Being Bobby Brown when it was on.  Bobby and especially Whitney were RAW in it.  To the point of hilarity.  Her public persona used to be this classy entertainer.  Once that show started to air-girl went GHET-TO!  Like they say, you can buy lotsa things but ya can't buy class!

I do feel bad for Ms. Houston's family, especially her daughter Bobbi Kristina.  Hopefully she will find the strength that she needs to get through this.  She's only 18 years old.  That is such a tough age to lose a mother.

It will be interesting in the coming weeks to find out what the official cause of death was.  Like I said earlier, even if it was attributed to drug abuse; did she really get what she deserved?

Monday Movie Challenge

Monday, February 13, 2012
Week 5:  Favorite love story in a film.

I was going to say The Notebook but since I already used this movie to answer last week's question, I'll choose another.  Although, who doesn't fall in love with Noah and Allie?

I chose Sommersby; a movie from 1993 with Jodie Foster, Richard Gere and R. Lee Ermy.  (Among other notable actors)  I don't recall it being a Box-office hit-it is one of my favorite movies, though.  If you've never seen it, get your hands on a copy and watch it!  Just make sure you have some tissues handy.  I won't try to give a synapse of the movie.  I'll just post the trailer for it...

Song Challenge Saturday!

Saturday, February 11, 2012
Week 12: A song that you like to work out to. 

That really depends on my mood and what I'm doing.  (Lifting, cardio, yoga, etc)  Here's some that gets me moving...

Fricking Family

Friday, February 10, 2012
I SWEAR what they say IS true about family.  All the sayings about how they can be a pain in the ass, ya can pick your friends but not your family, etc.  In all of my 42 years, I will never understand mine.  (Some members, anyway.  Others I understand all too well.) 

 Forever Family in Italian

I received bad news about my older cousin L who is an end-stage alcoholic.  She now also has end-stage liver failure and it was told to me that "she would be gone by the end of the year."  Now this is no surprise to me-not the way her health has been in such decline.  She has had detox after detox and each time the health care professionals say that she will be dead if she goes back to drinking.  When you know much about alcoholism, you learn to take that kind of thing with a grain of salt.  Yes, sometimes they do die after the next drink.  Sometimes they go on for years.  I have no idea why and neither do the so-called professionals.  Probably comparable to the same way some people can linger on with a terminal cancer while others succumb to it rather quickly.  And that right there is one of my main theories behind how our society needs to treat alcoholism like a type of cancer.  I don't mean biologically, but rather pathologically.  I'm convinced that there are different types of alcoholics as there are different types of cancers...thousands even.  Thus, there are hundreds of different types of treatments.  I think that we are in our infancy stages where alcoholism treatment/cure is concerned.  Although, there are some awesome strides being made in research these days.  Still, we are far from aggressive treatment and a cure.

Where was I going with this?  Oh yeah.  L really has no one.  Her mom and brother live halfway across the country.  My uncle (her dad) lives close to her but it might as well be a million miles away.  For whatever the reason their relationship is pretty estranged.  I have my theories and I feel that they both are to blame.  She has no friends and has lost her long time companion a couple of years ago.  They were never married but might as well have been.  
She's not "old" either.  At least I don't consider 50-something old for dying of end-stage alcoholism and liver diseased.  I've been wanting to go visit with her for quite some time now but am pretty limited in where I can go.  She lives an hour's drive from me.  Right now L is in the hospital but will be transferred to a nursing home soon-where she will go to die.  She had two other brothers that are deceased-suicide.  Unfortunately this is a family trait along with the alcoholism issues.  True be told, I think she wants to die but doesn't want to outright do it like her brothers did.  

I understand that family has to detach from the alcoholic, really I do.  I found myself in that situation before.  But there is a difference from detaching in a healthy way and total abandonment.  My aunt (her mother) has not been made fully aware of her condition.  In my opinion this is wrong.  I understand that my other cousin is just trying to protect their mom.  God knows the woman has had enough drama in her life.  With that being said, it still is her daughter and she deserves to be told.  What if L dies before my aunt could see her and say goodbye.  

The other one who cares about L is my aunt C.  Actually L is my second cousin but I just refer to her as my cousin in the hopes to keep it from getting so confusing.  (I'm probably making it worse)  My aunt C and cousin L are first cousins and close in age.  Apparently they were very close growing up also.  

I just cannot stand to see anyone die alone.  That has got to be one of the worst things in the world.  Nobody deserves that.  I think between my aunt C and I, we can at least be there for L in her last days.  

Like I said before though, I just don't get it.  Its as if most of the family says "Oh yeah L is drinking herself to death.  She'll be dead soon enough and we'll be rid of her."  They don't actually say that word for word but its the attitude they project.  

The older that I have gotten the less I judge.  I've found out the hard way that you just never know what you will do until you are put in someones same situation.  

Monday Movie Challenge

Monday, February 6, 2012
Week 4:  A movie that makes you sad.

This would have to be one of my all time favorite movies-The Notebook.  It makes me sad but in a good way.  I remember the first time that I saw it.  We had just moved into a new place and the cable hadn't been hooked up yet.  I was off work and had nothing to do that day.  My daughter has a huge dvd collection so I asked her if she had any good new ones.  She said she had The Notebook.  I had wanted to see it when it was at the theater but like always, I never get taken to a movie theater unless I go by myself.  

So I asked my daughter if it was any good, she said "yup" and brought it over.  I ended up watching it by myself and BAWLED MY FREAKIN' HEAD OFF!  If you've seen it you'll know what I mean.  And if you haven't...go rent it!
Here is one of my favorite scenes...

Pintrest!

Saturday, February 4, 2012
If you don't have a Pintrest account &/or haven't been to the site...YOU MUST!  I'm hooked.  Although, I must admit that I do have quite a bit of spare time on my hands these days.  I need a damn job!

If you have a Pintrest account, here's my page:  Click Here For My Pintrest Page
 Leave me a comment with your ID and I'll follow you.  If you don't have a page and want one, let me know and I'll send you an invite.  I'm not sure why but you need an invite to join.  Its like its some weird thing where only a select few can enter.  Its really not and its easy to set up.

Song Challenge Saturday!

Week 11: A song you like that’s in a language you don’t know. 

This is a really tough one for me-don't really know any songs in a foreign language.  I used to like that song from the 80s, 99 Luftballons by Nena.  It got so much radio and Mtv play that I got utterly sick of it.  (Yeah, back in the day when Mtv actually PLAYED videos.  Wow, what a concept.)
So anyway, I pretty much hate that song now.  The only other song that I could think of is Der Kommissar by After The Fire.  I'm not sure what language they're using-I think it may be German.  The song is pretty much in English save for a few lines in whatever the foreign language is.  Its a good tune though...
An artist named Falco also did this song.  His version sucks in my opinion!

Please Click Here

The Breast Cancer Site
Powered by Blogger.

Fav Quote

"The psychological rule says that when an inner situation is not made conscious, it happens outside, as fate. That is, when the individual remains undivided and does not become conscious of his inner opposite, the world must perforce act out the conflict and be torn into opposing halves." C. G. Jung